CASN Congratulates the Five Canadian Nurses honoured as Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing.

DSC01342CASN would like to congratulate the five Canadian Nurses who have been inducted as fellows of the American Academy of Nursing.

The American Academy of Nursing serves the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge.

The American Academy of Nursing’s approximately 1,500 Fellows are nursing leaders in education, management, practice and research. They include: association executives; university presidents, chancellors and deans; state and federal political appointees; hospital chief executives and vice presidents for nursing; nurse consultants; and researchers and entrepreneurs.

Invitation to Fellowship is more than recognition of one’s accomplishments within the nursing profession. AAN Fellows also have a responsibility to contribute their time and energies to the Academy, and to engage with other health care leaders outside the Academy in transforming America’s health care system.

Selection for membership in the Academy is among the most prestigious honours in the field of nursing. Congratulation to Carole Estabrooks (University of Alberta), Adeline Falk-Rafael (York University), Marilyn Ford-Gilboe (University of Western Ontario), Lynnette Leeseberg Stamler (University of Saskatchewan) and Sally Thorne (University of British Columbia).

They will be honoured for their accomplishments in October 2011 in Washington, D.C.




Siobhan Bond

Communications Program Officer

Tel:(613) 235-3150

Extension 23