CASN announces the recipients of the 2010 CASN Awards!

CASN announces the recipients of the 2010 CASN Awards!

October 29, 2010. The Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing is proud to announce the recipients of the 2010 CASN Awards. CASN has been recognizing the commitment of Canadian nursing education leaders since 1988. This year, CASN is honoured to be presenting awards to six outstanding leaders:

The Ethel Johns Award, presented to Gail Donner, University of Toronto, in recognition of distinguished service to nursing education. Gail is an educator in the best sense of the word – teacher, advocate, mentor and colleague, her commitment to nursing education is widely evident in all of her professional activities.

The Award for Academic Administrative Excellence, awarded to Diane Morin, Université Laval, for her contributions as an administrator and leader in her abilities to offer innovative solutions to complex problem, spearheading the launch of the PhD program, and her international work with many organizations.

The Award for Excellence in Nursing Education, presented to Star Mahara, Thompson Rivers University, for her expertise as a teacher, her commitment to cultural safety and the success of Aboriginal students who enter university nursing programs.

The Award for Excellence in Nursing Education – Non-Tenure, conferred to Darlene Scott, Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology, for being a pioneering and enduring champion in the exploration of non traditional settings and academic partners to maximize relevant student learning opportunities.

The Award for Excellence in Nursing Research, awarded to Brenda Cameron, University of Alberta, for her extensive and influential program of participatory research with Aboriginal communities in Canada and health care professionals, her work in delineating the qualities of nursing as revealed in the practice of nursing, and her passion for the practicing nurse’s environment.

The Wendy McBride Excellence Award for Accreditation Reviewers, presented to Sonia Acorn University of British Columbia, for her outstanding commitment to the CASN Accreditation program, through her many quality reviews, and her work with the task force on Accreditation.

CASN applauds the commitment to excellence and continued contributions of these leaders in nursing education, administration, research and accreditation. An awards reception will be held November 15th, 2010 at the Hilton Lac Leamy in Gatineau, to officially present the awards to these recipients.

The Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing is the national voice for nursing education, research, and scholarship and represents baccalaureate and graduate nursing programs across Canada. CASN’s objectives are to lead nursing education and nursing scholarship in the interest of healthier Canadians.

For further information please contact or by phone at 613-235-3150.