Dr. Kathleen Lechasseur, 2023 Pat Griffin Research Grant recipient

CASN is pleased to announce that Dr. Kathleen Lechassuer is a recipient of the 2023 Pat Griffin Research Grant

Dr. Kathleen Lechasseur is a full professor at the Faculty of Nursing at Université Laval. With extensive experience in the field of education, particularly in the Bachelor of Nursing program, she served as the director of the undergraduate program from 2012 to 2016 and as the vice-dean of undergraduate studies and continuing education from 2016 to 2021. With her expertise and commitment to educational innovation, she played an essential role in redesigning and implementing the Bachelor of Nursing program at Université Laval. Dr. Lechasseur was awarded the Teaching Excellence Award for Program Direction by Université Laval in recognition of her achievements. Passionate about nursing education, she specializes in various research areas, including qualitative research approaches, clinical reasoning, assessment of learning, pedagogical strategies, clinical supervision, and professionalization. As a recognized member for her expertise on the Futur Team since 2012 (funded by the FRQSC), Dr. Lechasseur contributes to the advancement of knowledge in this field. Her desire to disseminate scientific knowledge aimed at improving the education of nurses has led her to present at numerous provincial, national, and international conferences, as well as publish several research articles.

Recently, Dr. Lechasseur has published a book dedicated to preceptors, aiming to support them in their role. Based on research findings, this book addresses the various challenges of clinical supervision, incorporating numerous examples from the clinical setting as well as providing practical tools for preceptors.

Throughout her career, Dr. Lechasseur has made a substantial contribution to research and teaching in the field of nursing, and she continues to inspire and promote excellence in her area of expertise. Her passion, dedication, and commitment make her a recipient of the Pat Griffin Award.