Dr. Kara Sealock is the 2022 CASN Pat Griffin Scholar Award winner!

CASN is pleased to announce that the
2022 Pat Griffin Scholar Award winner is

Dr. Kara Sealock

Dr. Kara Sealock is a tenured Associate Professor (Teaching) at the University of Calgary. Dr. Sealock has considerable teaching experience in the undergraduate nursing program with a primary focus on pathophysiology, pharmacology, nursing process, clinical judgment, NCLEX-RN, and Next Generation NCLEX. She has substantive experience preparing undergraduate nursing students for theory and clinical practice and for success when writing NCLEX-RN. Dr. Sealock is published in both national and international journals, several book chapters, and texts. She has presented locally, provincially, nationally, and internationally. She sits on local, provincial, and national nursing education committees, as well as national professional development committees. All committee work has a primary focus of improving the delivery of nursing education, enriching professional development and educational strategies for both undergraduate nursing students and practicing registered nurses. Dr. Sealock’s teaching and learning research interests include adult learning with specific attention to cognitive levels of learning in clinical and theoretical environments, enhancing student success on NCLEX-RN, faculty development, relational inquiry, and empathy. She has been recognized by nominations and awarded Teaching Excellence for her contributions to teaching and learning at the University of Calgary and within the Faculty of Nursing. Her passion for learning transcends into the classroom.

Congratulations Dr. Kara Sealock!!