The 2023-2024 Lunch and Learn Series, Presented by CASN’s Research & Scholarship Committee

Description

“Lunch and learns” are a popular tool in academia to encourage scholarship. Faculty members come together during their lunch hour to share their work and to network. CASN’s webinar series, presented by the Research and Scholarship Committee, aims to recreate the collegial feel of the ‘lunch and learn’ and is intended to serve as inspiration and a networking opportunity. Nursing faculty from across the country present on a scholarship project and discuss methodologies, successes or challenges they have encountered in their work.

During the past year, we have heard much about the impact of machine learning, artificial intelligence and big data, so the theme for the 2023-2024 series is “Use of machine learning, artificial intelligences and big data: Implications for nursing research and education”.


Winter 2024

 

Date Presenter Title

REGISTER

Wednesday, March 20, 2024

PST: 11:00 – 12:00
MST: 12:00 – 1:00
CST: 1:00 -2:00
EST: 2:00 – 3:00
AST: 3:00 – 4:00
NST: 3:30 – 4:30

Dr. Jae-Yung Kwon, University of Victoria

 

 

From machine learning to contextualizing the person using patient-reported data: The role of nursing in knowledge translation

REGISTER

Thursday, April 18 2024

PST: 9:00 – 10:00
MST: 10:00 – 11:00
CST: 11:00 -12:00
EST: 12:00 – 1:00
AST: 1:00 – 2:00
NST: 1:30 – 2:30

Dr. Charlene Chu, University of Toronto

 

 

Scoping Review to inform the Nursing Informatics Entry-to-Practice Competencies for Registered Nurses update


Audience

Nurse educators, nurse researchers and nursing graduate students.

Objectives / Themes

  • To promote the development of the science of nursing and nursing education.
  • To build nursing research capacity.
  • To promote and foster scholarship amongst CASN members.
  • To support the development of nursing researchers and the nursing research community.

Delivery: Zoom

The webinar will be presented in English only.

If you have any questions or would like further information, please contact Don Flaming, Senior Education Coordinator, at dflaming@casn.ca.